Leave Package
Home Page

  jobs.sc.gov  

Hot Topics

Career Opportunities

Employee Services

Employer Services

Training & Development

How to Contact Us

OHR Webmail

Other Agencies

State Employees
Weather Alert

Sam Wilkins, Director
South Carolina Office
of Human Resources
8301 Parklane Road
Suite A220
Columbia, SC 29223
Phone: (803) 896-5300

INSPECTOR GENERAL'S
FRAUD HOTLINE

(State Agency fraud only)

1-855-SCFRAUD
or
1-855-723-7283

Annual Leave

As a full time state employee (40 hours per week), you will earn one and a
quarter (1.25) days of annual leave per month for a total of 15 days per year.

Annual leave for a part-time employee in a permanent position is based on the
number of hours worked per week.

After ten (10) years of service with the State, you will begin to earn annual leave
at a higher rate which increases annually for each year of service.

No more than 45 annual leave days may be carried over from one calendar year to
the next.

When you leave state employment, you will be paid for the leave you have
accrued up to 45 days.

Holidays

Holidays granted by the General Assembly:

New Year's Day - January 1
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - Third Monday in January
George Washington's Birthday/President's Day - Third Monday in February
Confederate Memorial Day - May 10
National Memorial Day - Last Monday in May
Independence Day - July 4
Labor Day - First Monday in September
Veterans Day - November 11
Thanksgiving Day - Fourth Thursday in November
Day after Thanksgiving - Friday following Thanksgiving
Christmas Eve - December 24
Christmas Day - December 25
Day after Christmas - December 26

If you work on an official state holiday, you will be granted special
compensatory leave to be taken within 90 days of the holiday (within one year
for academic employees).

If a holiday falls on Saturday, it will generally be observed on Friday. If a
holiday falls on Sunday, it will generally be observed on Monday.

The holiday schedules of public colleges and universities, including technical colleges, may be observed on different dates than shown above in accordance with Section 53-5-10 of the South Carolina Code of Laws.The holiday schedules of public colleges and universities, including technical colleges, may be observed on different dates than shown above in accordance with Section 53-5-10 of the South Carolina Code of Laws.

Sick Leave

As a full-time state employee (40 hours per week), you will earn one and a
quarter (1.25) days of sick leave per month for a total of 15 days per year.
This time may be used for personal illness and medical appointments.

Sick leave for a part-time employee in a permanent position is based on the
number of hours worked per week.

If you earn sick leave, you may use up to ten (10) days of sick leave annually
to care for members of your immediate family.

No more than 180 sick leave days may be carried over from one calendar year to
the next. Up to 90 days of sick leave can be credited towards retirement.